Clay Electric personnel continues efforts Wednesday evening, July 7, to restore service to members who were impacted by Tropical Storm Elsa. As of 8 p.m., 1,836 members remained... Continue Reading ›

Clay Electric Cooperative is grieving for a lost friend and co-worker. Lineworker William “Ziggy” Ziegenfelder, 56, passed away while working in the co-op's Gainesville service... Continue Reading ›

Vehicles from our fleet are currently up for auction online and more will be available in the coming weeks. Three auctions will take place; two will feature small fleet vehicles... Continue Reading ›

A forecast team from Colorado State University has predicted an above-average level of activity in the Atlantic basin this hurricane season. The CSU Tropical Meteorology... Continue Reading ›

The 83rd Annual Meeting video report is now available. You’ll hear remarks from the president of the Board of Trustees, Susan Reeves; General Manager Ricky Davis' report; and the... Continue Reading ›

Due to ongoing concerns surrounding the spread of coronavirus, the co-op has made the difficult decision to cancel the gathering portion of Annual Meeting for the second year in a... Continue Reading ›

Clay Electric members elect trustees at co-op's Annual Meeting

KEYSTONE HEIGHTS, Fla. – Clay Electric Cooperative’s members elected four members to the board of trustees during the co-op’s 77th annual meeting on Thursday, March 26 at the cooperative’s central office.

In the District 9 board of trustees election, Karen Hastings defeated Sheldon Skolfield. Hastings received 887 votes to Skolfield’s 208. Susan Reeves, incumbent trustee for District 3, was re-elected with 1,066 votes (no opposition), as was Dewitt Hersey, incumbent trustee for District 5, with 1,054 votes (no opposition). John Henry Whitehead, incumbent trustee for District 7, received 1,057 votes (no opposition).

Members approved three amendments to the cooperative’s bylaws at Thursday’s meeting. The amendments addressed the record date for establishing the list of co-op members who are eligible to vote; the factors used to determine the size of the nine trustee districts; and the fact that the co-op no longer participates in the Rural Utilities Service program.

The co-op estimated that approximately 2,500 people attended this year’s annual meeting. Members who attended the day-long annual meeting enjoyed a grilled chicken lunch during the noon hour. They also had opportunities to visit a health fair, talk with vendors at a variety of exhibits and listen to music under the big tent that was provided by bluegrass band Back From the Brink. Amanda Gathright of Starke was the winner of the grand prize, a 2009 Ford Ranger truck. The co-op gives away a used truck during the annual meeting each year.

During the afternoon business session, General Manager/CEO Ricky Davis and Board President Carl Malphurs spoke to the annual meeting crowd about the co-op’s accomplishments in 2014, as well as the hard work and dedication of the co-op’s employees. Malphurs said the co-op returned $5.25 million in Capital Credits to entitled members this month.

Davis presented the co-op’s annual Employee Recognition Award to Debbie Haney, human resources specialist for the co-op. Haney has worked for the co-op for 20 years and was nominated by several other employees for her excellent customer service.

“I would like to thank all of our members who took time out of their busy schedules to attend our annual meeting on Thursday,” Davis said. “It’s an important day for Clay Electric, and we appreciate everyone who attended.”