Clay Electric personnel continues efforts Wednesday evening, July 7, to restore service to members who were impacted by Tropical Storm Elsa. As of 8 p.m., 1,836 members remained... Continue Reading ›

Clay Electric Cooperative is grieving for a lost friend and co-worker. Lineworker William “Ziggy” Ziegenfelder, 56, passed away while working in the co-op's Gainesville service... Continue Reading ›

Vehicles from our fleet are currently up for auction online and more will be available in the coming weeks. Three auctions will take place; two will feature small fleet vehicles... Continue Reading ›

A forecast team from Colorado State University has predicted an above-average level of activity in the Atlantic basin this hurricane season. The CSU Tropical Meteorology... Continue Reading ›

The 83rd Annual Meeting video report is now available. You’ll hear remarks from the president of the Board of Trustees, Susan Reeves; General Manager Ricky Davis' report; and the... Continue Reading ›

Due to ongoing concerns surrounding the spread of coronavirus, the co-op has made the difficult decision to cancel the gathering portion of Annual Meeting for the second year in a... Continue Reading ›

Co-op’s 81st Annual Meeting draws a crowd

Clay Electric Cooperative’s members re-elected three members to the board of trustees during the co-op’s 81st annual meeting on Thursday, March 28 in Keystone Heights.

Incumbent Carl Hagglund of District 1, Jo Ann Smith of District 8 and Karen Hastings of District 9 were re-elected and did not face opposition. Members also approved amendments to the Cooperative’s bylaws by a vote of 1,823 to 134.

The co-op estimated that approximately 2,000 people attended this year’s annual meeting. Members who attended the day-long annual meeting enjoyed a grilled chicken lunch during the noon hour. They also had opportunities to visit a health fair, talk with vendors at a variety of exhibits and listen to music under the big tent that was provided by bluegrass band Back from the Brink. Larry and Bertha Skinner of Silver Springs were the winners of the grand prize, a 2012 Chevrolet Colorado pickup. The Skinners have been members of the co-op since 2001 and have attended every annual meeting since. The co-op gives away a used truck during the annual meeting each year.

During the afternoon business session, General Manager/CEO Ricky Davis and Board President John Henry Whitehead spoke to the annual meeting crowd about the co-op’s accomplishments in 2018. Davis said the co-op returned $12 million in Capital Credits to entitled members in March.

Whitehead spoke about the many unique benefits of being a member of a cooperative.

Davis presented the co-op’s annual Employee Recognition Award to Patti Tyson, customer service representative in the Call Center. Tyson has worked for the co-op for 14 years and was nominated by co-workers for her dedication to excellent customer service.

“I would like to thank all of our members who took time out of their busy schedules to attend our annual meeting on Thursday,” Davis said. “It’s an important day for Clay Electric, and we appreciate everyone who attended.”

Vote by mail bill credit winners

Co-op members who voted by mail before the Annual Meeting was held were entered into a special prize drawing for 34 bill credit prizes. James Smith of Citra won the $1,200 bill credit. Donald Boyette of Macclenny won the $600 bill credit. Nicholas Miller of Gainesville won the $250 bill credit and Vernon Glisson of Hawthorne won the $120 bill credit. Winners of the $25 bill credits were Daniel Thomas of Lake Butler, WR Bratcher & Son of Alachua, Della Sturgis of Citra, Samuel Marshall of Georgetown, John Wilson of Middleburg, Dan Hansen of Fleming Island, James Wais of Fleming Island, Julia Rutherford of Altoona, Suzanne Pierce of Middleburg, Mark Maxwell of Keystone Heights, Ronald Moss of Alachua, Julie Ann Potts of Melrose, Kathy Brooks of Orange Park, Thomas Chase of Middleburg, Wendy Rouse of Gainesville, Sherri Johnson of Green Cove Springs, Diane Davison of Middleburg, Kathy Hause of Middleburg, OPC News, LLC of Sumter, SC, John Inman of Fleming Island, Jeffrey Holt of Fleming Island, Matthew Davis of Orange Park, John Abt of Green Cove Springs, Thomas Thompson of Palatka, Beau McRae of Middleburg, Michael Vantsevich of Fort McCoy, Philip Leary of Palatka, Rita Weichert of Satsuma, George Loridas of Hawthorne and Kenneth Kendzierski of Green Cove Springs. Congratulations to the winners!