Clay Electric personnel continues efforts Wednesday evening, July 7, to restore service to members who were impacted by Tropical Storm Elsa. As of 8 p.m., 1,836 members remained... Continue Reading ›

Clay Electric Cooperative is grieving for a lost friend and co-worker. Lineworker William “Ziggy” Ziegenfelder, 56, passed away while working in the co-op's Gainesville service... Continue Reading ›

Vehicles from our fleet are currently up for auction online and more will be available in the coming weeks. Three auctions will take place; two will feature small fleet vehicles... Continue Reading ›

A forecast team from Colorado State University has predicted an above-average level of activity in the Atlantic basin this hurricane season. The CSU Tropical Meteorology... Continue Reading ›

The 83rd Annual Meeting video report is now available. You’ll hear remarks from the president of the Board of Trustees, Susan Reeves; General Manager Ricky Davis' report; and the... Continue Reading ›

Due to ongoing concerns surrounding the spread of coronavirus, the co-op has made the difficult decision to cancel the gathering portion of Annual Meeting for the second year in a... Continue Reading ›

Trustee candidates set for Districts 3, 5, 7 and 9

Co-op members have participated in four trustee district meetings this month for the purpose of selecting candidates for the co-op’s board of trustees in Districts 3, 5, 7 and 9.

At the District 9 meeting held at the Citra Community Center Thursday night, Karen Hastings of Citra received 46 votes and Sheldon Skolfield of DeLeon Springs received one vote. The District 9 meeting was a special election held for the purpose of selecting one or two candidates to replace the late trustee Angus Hastings. Both candidates will appear on the ballot at the Annual Meeting.

At the District 3 meeting on Jan. 13, incumbent trustee Susan Reeves was nominated as a candidate. On Jan. 15, John Henry Whitehead, incumbent trustee for District 7, was nominated as a candidate. Dewitt Hersey, incumbent trustee for District 5, was selected as a candidate on Jan. 20. All three candidates were unopposed.

Each year, three positions on the co-op’s nine-member board of trustees are up for election. Members within the respective districts select one or two members to be candidates for the board of trustees. These candidates are voted upon by all members who attend and register to vote at the Annual Meeting, which will be held Thursday, Mar. 26 in Keystone Heights.

For the first time, members who can’t attend the cooperative’s Annual Meeting can vote on the candidates via absentee ballot. Beginning Feb. 9, members can request an absentee ballot. More information about the absentee ballot process will be provided in the February Kilowatt newsletter.